

BARNES COUNTY - PLANNING AND ZONING

BETTY KOSLOFSKY, COORDINATOR

701-845-8516 bkoslofsky@co.barnes.nd.us

> Planning and Zoning Barnes County Courthouse 230 4th Street NW, Room 201 Valley City, ND 58072

Board Members

Eldred Knutson Chairman

3730 117th Ave SE Valley City, ND 58072 701-845-4694

Bob Eggert

Vice Chairman 1402 2nd Ave NE Valley City ND 58072 701-845-3004

John Froelich 11405 28th St SE Valley City ND 580

Valley City ND 58072 701-845-1371

Cindy Schwehr 11442 23rd St SE

Rogers, ND. 58479 701-646-6203

Bill McKay

12312 22nd St SE Valley City ND 58072 701-845-5309

John Behm

PO Box 34 Fingal, ND 58031 701-924-8839

Vernon Roorda

9610 44th St SE Ypsilanti ND 58497 701-669-2584

Ken Evenson

1416 2nd Ave NE Valley City ND 58072 701-845-3735

Bob Werkhoven

630 10th Ave SW Valley City ND 58072 701-845-5168

MINUTES - AUGUST 12, 2010

Present: Eldred Knutson, Bob Eggert, John Froelich, Cindy Schwehr, John Behm, Vernon Roorda, Ken Evenson, Bob Werkhoven

Also present: Kirby Anderson, Tom Hrdlicka, Scott Scovill, Bob Thibeault, Terry Metzger, Chuck Luessen, Brent Sundlie, Tim Lemley, Marcy Sv enningsen, Ray Borg, Melvin Wendel, Anthony Wendel, Mark Luessen, Chris Mogel, Bruce Anderson, Mike Kjelland, Tom Odegaard, Carol Thibeault, Gerold Busche, Duane Lettenmaier,

Chairman Eldred Knutson opened the meeting.

Froelich made a motion, seconded by Werkhoven, to approve the minutes of July 8. Motion carried.

Knutson recessed the meeting and opened and closed hearings individually for each of the following:

- William Poukka, Cuba, Sec. 4, building variance, barn addition. Motion by Evenson, seconded by Froelich, to approve. Motion carried.
- Gerold Busche, Green, NE1/4, 14-139N-59W, zoning change (ag to residential) & auditor's lot, residence. Motion by Schwehr, seconded by Roorda, to approve. Motion carried.
- Scott Cummings, Marsh, 13-139N-58W, zoning change, (ag to commercial), shop. Motion by Schwehr, seconded by Evenson, to allow Chairman Knutson to abstain from voting. Motion carried. Motion by Eggert, seconded by Roorda, to approve the zoning change from ag to commercial. Motion carried.
- Mark Askerooth, Grand Prairie, SW1/4, 10-142-57, auditor's lots & size variances. Motion by Schwehr, seconded by Werkhoven, to approve the three lots for size variances. Motion carried.
- Green Hills Energy, Green, conditional use & height variance, wind farm development, construction, operations, maintenance. Kirby Anderson and Tom Hrdlicka of Otter Tail Energy Services were present for the hearing. Testimony was heard as follows:
 - Bruce Anderson, Hobart Township chairman, discussed concerns about roads.
 - Bob Thibeault discussed his concerns about receiving no compensation for their loss of value on property in sight of the towers.

MINUTES - AUGUST 12, 2010 P. 2

- Mark Luessen, Green Township landowner, and Tom Odegaard, Marsh Township landowner, expressed their concerns.
- Mike Kjelland, Green Township, spoke about the helicopter sound and blinking red lights.
- Duane Lettenmaier, Potter Township, spoke in favor of the wind farm.

The hearing was closed, and the Board meeting reconvened. Motion by Evenson, seconded by Froelich to approve the conditional use permit and the height variance for Green Hills Energy. Upon a roll call vote with Knutson and Werkhoven voting "no," and all others present voting "yes," motion carried.

Scott Scovill, NextEra Energy director, updated the Board on their project.

Discussion was held concerning non-compliance issues.

Timothy Lemley met with the Board regarding a non-compliance letter he received concerning excess vehicles and junk on his property. Mr. Lemley said he is working on the site and that only one of the cars is not licensed.

Lee Grossman, Assistant State's Attorney, discussed the number of acres needed for wind tower parcels until corrections can be made to the zoning code.

Building permits for the following were reviewed:

- Ashtabula Wind III (NextEra)
- William R. Poukka
- Lee Reierson
- Scott Cummings
- DuWayne Didier
- Curtis Erber
- Mark Askerooth
- Eldon Maasjo

- Ronald Winkler
- Eldred Knutson Renew
- Rodney Kluvers
- Dick Monson
- Kevin Tulp
- Evergreen Cooperative
- William Winkler
- Dick Gulmon
- Paul Isakson

There being no further business to come before the Board, Eggert made a motion, seconded by Froelich, to adjourn. Motion carried.

Edward R. McGough, Secretary Barnes County Planning & Zoning Board